Your Commissioners

The Port of Anacortes has five commission districts, each represented by an elected Commissioner for that district. Port Commissioners are elected to four year terms. Elections are held every two years.

2021 12 08 Jon Ronngren Headshot_02_LowRes

Jon Ronngren

District 1 | Term Expires: December 31, 2025
Phone: (360) 708-6307

Commissioner Ronngren was elected Port Commissioner in 2021 and began his term in January 2022.   Mr. Ronngren currently works for the Mount Vernon School District after working many years in the Anacortes School District as a school counselor and administrator.  Mr. Ronngren has a Bachelor’s Degree in Law & Justice / Psychology from Central Washington University, a Master’s Degree in Counseling Psychology from Lewis & Clark College, and School Principal/Superintendent Certifications from Western Washington University.  An Army veteran and longtime resident of Anacortes, Commissioner Ronngren and his family appreciate many aspects that make Anacortes a special place including hiking the forest lands and boating in the San Juans on their sailboat – El Vikingo.

Jon Petrich

District 2 | Term Expires: December 31, 2025
Phone: (206) 255-0649

Commissioner Petrich was initially elected Port Commissioner in 2017 and began his term in January 2018.  Commissioner Petrich was subsequently re-elected in 2021 and began his second term in 2022. In addition to owning a small business, he is employed as a licensed Lead Vessel Operator at National Response Corporation (NRC).  Commissioner Petrich has two bachelor’s degrees from Eastern Washington University in finance and economics.  A lifelong resident of Skagit County, he and his family enjoy being active in many aspects of the local community.

2023.06.29 Headshot

Shawn Ottenbreit

District 3 | Term expires December 2027
Phone (253) 359-1559

Commissioner Ottenbreit was appointed and began his term in March of 2023. Mr. Ottenbreit and his wife have been entrepreneurs in the boating industry for the past 6 years. They own and operate a local boat dealership, Salish Boat Company and a boat club, Freedom Boat Club. Mr. Ottenbreit has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of British Columbia. Prior to being an entrepreneur, Mr. Ottenbreit spent 25 years as a Certified Public Accountant with Ernst & Young and senior finance executive with Hewlett-Packard Company. Commissioner Ottenbreit is passionate about spending his recreational time with family and friends on the water cruising and enjoying the amazing boating and fishing here in the Salish Sea.

Bonnie Bowers

District 4 | Term Expires: December 31, 2027
Phone: (360) 540-9318

Commissioner Bowers was elected Port Commissioner in 2019 and began her term in January 2020. Mrs. Bowers is a graduate of Washington State University and the FBI National Academy. She retired as Police Chief in Anacortes after a 33 year career in public safety.  She has a keen interest in economic development and green industry. Mrs. Bowers is a longtime member of the Anacortes Rotary Club. She and her husband Bud, also retired from a long career in public safety, enjoy the wonderful outdoor activities provided in our community and time with their grandchildren.

Katherine “Kathy” Pittis

District 5 | Term Expires: December 31, 2025
Phone: (360) 420-4446

Commissioner Pittis was elected Port Commissioner in 2017 and began her term in January 2018. Mrs. Pittis had a 21-year career at the Port of Anacortes, serving in various leadership roles. Commissioner Pittis is currently serving as past President of the Washington Public Ports Association Executive Committee and serves on the Northwest Career & Technical Academy General Advisory Committee. She is a home-educator and, along with her husband Russ, enjoys an active lifestyle including involvement with their children’s athletic and academic endeavors.

Commissioner District Map

Commissioner District Map

Historical Directory of Officials

The history of Port Commissioners dates back to 1926 when the first Port of Anacortes commissioners were elected.

View Full Directory


Manager / Executive Director